Licensing Information

Licensing of Naturopathic Physicians

Naturopathic physicians practice in most U.S. states and Canadian provinces as well as foreign countries under various legal provisions. States and Canadian provinces that license NDs at this writing are Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Manitoba, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ontario, Oregon, Saskatchewan, Utah, Vermont, Washington and U.S. Territories: Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands. In other U.S. and Canadian jurisdictions, a varying scope of naturopathic practice may be permitted or protected by court decisions, attorney general opinions, or local custom.

Efforts to enact licensing laws are underway in several states. The best sources of current information about the legal status of naturopathic medicine in a particular area are the American Association of Naturopathic Physicians (4435 Wisconsin Avenue NW, Suite 403, Washington, DC 20016 or, state or provincial naturopathic associations, or individual naturopathic physicians in that area.

Currently, all states that license naturopathic physicians require graduation from a residential course of study offered through a college approved by the examining jurisdiction. National University of Natural Medicine meets all requirements and is accredited by the Council on Naturopathic Medical Education.

Completion of the ND degree at National University of Natural Medicine or another recognized institution qualifies candidates to sit for a board licensing examination that every applicant must pass to be licensed. Similarly, National University of Natural Medicine graduates are eligible to sit for examination in Canadian provinces that license naturopathic medicine. While each jurisdiction has its own examination requirements, an increasing number use the Naturopathic Physicians License Exam (NPLEX) as part or all of the required testing.

Licensing of Acupuncturists

Graduates of the MSOM and MAc programs are eligible to apply for acupuncture licensure in the state of Oregon. MSOM graduates are eligible to take all exams administered by the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM), which most states use as a basis for licensure. MAc graduates are eligible to take all NCCAOM exams except the Chinese Herbology Module Exam, which is required for licensure in some states.

For additional information, contact:
76 South Laura St., Suite 1290
Jacksonville, FL 32202

In addition, the MSOM program is approved by the California Acupuncture Board, allowing graduates to sit for the California licensing exam, and is on the State of New Mexico education program approved list.  The MAc program does not meet licensing requirements for the State of California or the State of New Mexico.

For additional information concerning acupuncture licensure in the State of California, contact:
The California Acupuncture Board
444 N. 3rd Street, Suite 260
Sacramento, CA 95814-0226

For additional information concerning licensure in the State of New Mexico, contact:
The Board of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 97505

The following jurisdictions use NCCAOM exams as a part of their licensure protocol: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. The MSOM program is also specifically approved by the California Acupuncture Board and the New Mexico Board of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. We recommend that you contact the licensing body in the state in which you wish to practice for additional information.