2009 ZRT Cup Competition

For the second year in a row, NCNM students went head-to-head with Bastyr in the ZRT Cup Competition and won the battle of medical minds, winning the $10,000 first place prize. ZRT Laboratory sponsored and funded the second annual ZRT college bowl competition, which was held at the American Association of Naturopathic Physicians (AANP) Conference in Tacoma. The academic competition, for students of accredited naturopathic colleges, is held in partnership with the Naturopathic Medical Student Association (NMSA), to foster community among naturopathic medical colleges and promote education for naturopathic physicians. The champions of last year’s $10,000 prize used their winnings to establish an NCNM geriatric center within the Wallace Clinic this fall. (Bastyr took the second place prize of $3,000 again this year.)

In addition to NCNM and Bastyr, the other competing schools this year included: University of Bridgeport College of Naturopathic Medicine, Boucher Institute of Naturopathic Medicine, Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine, Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine and National University of Health Sciences.

Many thanks to ZRT, NMSA and, of course, our NCNM students who will be bringing home the ZRT Cup again this year: Mark Davis, Nolan Noska, Sarah Noseworthy, Anna Weiman, and Liz Davidson (who coordinated the competition for the team). A big round of applause for all, and for the team’s mentor and coach, Dr. Steven Sandberg-Lewis!