NUNM Stars Shine at American Association of Naturopathic Physicians Meet

Melanie Henriksen, ND, MSOM (’05), dean of the College of Naturopathic Medicine, was unanimously elected president of the Association of Accredited Naturopathic Medical Colleges at the recent annual meeting of the AANMC in Salt Lake City, Utah. The meeting took place in conjunction with the American Association of Naturopathic Physicians annual meeting.

“This recognizes Dr. Henriksen’s leadership, vision and service to naturopathic medical education, both clinical and didactic,” said NUNM President David Schleich. Dr. Henriksen’s term will run for two years. The AANMC represents all accredited naturopathic medical schools in North America and supports member schools in the development of naturopathic education, research and public awareness.

Two other members of the NUNM community were also honored by the AANP, the national professional organization representing licensed naturopathic physicians:

Heather Zwickey, PhD, dean of the NUNM School of Research & Graduate Studies, was recognized with the Champion of Naturopathic Medicine Award, given to individuals who provide leadership and outstanding service for the development of naturopathic medicine in America. Said Dr. Schleich: “Dr. Zwickey has shown exemplary leadership in scholarship and research in support of the development of the naturopathic profession, in particular the codification of naturopathic knowledge which is vital to our programs and clinical practice.”

Cathy rogers ND '76

Cathy Rogers, ND (’76), a practicing naturopathic physician and owner of the Seattle-area Chico Water Cure Spa, was recognized as the Naturopathic Physician of the Year, given to a naturopathic physician whose sustained contributions to the medicine are highly valued and respected by the profession. Dr. Schleich said: “This prestigious award recognizes Dr. Rogers’ outstanding clinical care for patients and for the profession, sharing best practices over a long period of time.”

Schleich continued: “Here we have three NUNM rock stars, a highly respected academic dean (and alumna) whose leadership in curriculum development is widely valued; a distinguished researcher, administrator and teacher; an extraordinary alumna who has been helping patients and modeling clinical excellence for decades. Go team!”