2018 Living Legend: Jared Zeff, ND, LAc

NUNM and the OANP selected Dr. Jared Zeff to be honored with the naturopathic medicine’s prestigious Living Legend award on December 1, 2018 for his demonstrated leadership, commitment to excellence and outstanding contributions to the advancement of natural medicine in the state of Oregon.

In addition to his work as an acupuncturist and naturopathic physician, Zeff, a 1979 NUNM graduate, and faculty member (1979-current) is a longtime supporter of the OANP including his role as a board member from 1980-1985, as President of the OANP from 1983-1984, has taught many classes on behalf of the association, and is currently serving on the OANP House of Delegates. Since 1979, he has been teaching in various capacities at NUNM and is currently teaching “Naturopathic History and Philosophy” at the University. He has also been an adjunct faculty member at Bastyr University since 1995, and was a visiting professor at St. George’s University from 2002-2015.

Dr. Zeff has a long list of accomplishments. In addition to teaching and clinical practice, Zeff is the current president and founder of the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Healing Arts in Portland Oregon, is a founder of the Naturopathic Cancer Conference, and is the chairman of the Foundations of Naturopathic Medicine International Education Project, and the senior editor for the Foundations of Naturopathic Medicine Textbook Project, which is a collaboration of more then 300 authors in the naturopathic medical community dedicated to developing a comprehensive textbook for naturopathic and integrative medical education. He has a vast list of publications, including pieces in the Journal of Naturopathic Medicine and The Textbook of Natural Medicine.

In 1989, the American Association of Naturopathic Physicians presented him with the “Naturopathic Physician of the Year” award in recognition of his significant advances in naturopathic medical theory. In 2002 he received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Northwest Naturopathic Physicians Association, and was the recipient of the NUNM Naturopathic Physician “Hall of Fame” award in 2011 and 2012.

OANP Board President Carrie Baldwin-Sayre acknowledged Dr. Zeff’s years of service to naturopathic medicine. “Dr. Zeff’s dedication to the naturopathic community is evident through his teaching and involvement in all levels, and truly models the best of our profession. We honor his time, effort and devotion to naturopathic medicine.”